Writers Reminder

Since 1993 serving Writers with free information they can use.





Get Ready, Get set, GO!

The OWFI Writing Contest started January 1, 2020 

and ends February 1, 2020. 

Enter today!

For rules and info:  https://www.owfi.org


William Saroyan-Stanford book prize. $5000 prize. Book-length fiction or nonfiction published between Jan 2018-Dec 2019. For writers who have published 4 books or fewer. Very prestigious award.  Deadline January 31st,  $50 entrance fee, 5 copies


FIRST PAGES PRIZE $25 Entry Fee. Enter the first FIVE pages (1,250 words max) of a fiction or creative nonfiction manuscript. Open internationally to un-agented writers, whether published previously or not. Prizes: $1,000, $750 and $500, plus partial developmental editing and travel stipends in Paris, France for prize-giving events June 9-10, 2020. Deadline February 2nd.


William Van Dyke Short Story Prize   $20 Entry Fee. $1,500 and publication in Ruminate for a short story up to 5,500 words with a $20 entry fee, Deadline February 15.


RUBERY BOOK PRIZE ENTRY, FEE £37 or $60. No publication date restriction. Accepts fiction and nonfiction. The Rubery Book Prize is an international book award organization offering one grand “Book of the Year” prize, which includes £1,500 as well as publishing consideration from a top London literary agency. Smaller prizes are also awarded for finalists. Deadline March 31st Entry fee $60 ea from USA



Poets & Writers

Contests, Grants & Awards




Everybody has a story to share. What's yours? Send us a true story about you, in 100 words or fewer—if it's chosen by our editors for publication in our magazine, you'll be paid $100! We also may pick selected favorites to appear on our site at RD.com. For complete details, see submission guidelines.



L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest

Whatever your feelings about L. Ron Hubbard’s work and philosophy, the prizes for this regular contest are nothing to sneeze at. Every three months, winners earn $1,000, $750 and $500, or an additional annual grand prize worth $5,000.

Submissions must be short stories or novelettes (up to 17,000 words) in the genre of science fiction or fantasy, and new and amateur writers are welcome to apply.

Deadlines: Quarterly on January 1, April 1, July 1 and October 1.



 Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize

Deadline - January 31 annually

Awarded to “the most promising and innovative literary nonfiction project by a writer not yet established in the genre,” this prize provides a $12,000 advance and publication by Graywolf Press.

If you live in the U.S. and have published at least one book (in any genre), you’re eligible to submit a current manuscript in progress for consideration. The judges look for winners who push the boundaries of traditional literary nonfiction.



 Tony Hillerman Prize

Presented by St. Martin’s Press and WORDHARVEST, this prize awards the best first mystery novel set in the Southwest with $10,000 and publication by St. Martin’s Press.

It’s open to professional or non-professional writers who have not yet had a mystery published, and there are specific guidelines for the structure of your story: “Murder or another serious crime or crimes must be at the heart of the story, with emphasis on the solution rather than the details of the crime.”

Deadline: Annually on June 1.

http://www.hillermanprize.com /


Young Lions Fiction Award

This $10,000 award recognizes “young authors,” which the rules define as any author aged 35 or younger. Submit any novel or short story published or scheduled to be published in the calendar year. Works must be written for adults; children’s or YA pieces are ineligible.

Deadline: Annually in August



New Voices Award

Presented by Lee & Low Books, an award-winning children’s book publisher, this award is given for a previously unpublished children’s picture book manuscript (of no more than 1,500 words) written by a writer of color.

The winner receives $1,000 cash and a standard publication contract. You may submit up to two manuscripts.

Deadline: Postmarked by September 30 each year



PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Honoring the best work of fiction published by an American author in a single calendar year, this award has been given to the likes of John Updike, Philip Roth and Ann Patchett.

The winner receives $15,000 and an invitation to read at the award ceremony in Washington, DC. Four finalists also each receive a $5,000 award.

Deadline: Annually on October 31 for books published that calendar year.



Contests for Writers